Book Review: One Man’s War by Steven Savile

Posted November 14, 2019 by lomeraniel in Audiobooks, Review, Science-Fiction, Technothriller, Thriller / 0 Comments

Book Review: One Man’s War by Steven SavileOne Man's War: A Sci-Fi Revenge Thriller by Steven Savile
Narrator: R.C. Bray
Published by Aethon Audio on 10-01-19
Genres: Science-Fiction, Technothriller, Thriller
Length: 5 hrs and 4 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Publisher
Buy on Amazon/Audible
Goodreads
Overal Rating: four-stars

There's no good way to prepare yourself to die....

Guerro runs a kill team. They're good. Better than good. Or they were, until they walked into an ambush that wiped his team out and left Guerro for dead.

All the evidence suggests they were betrayed, but by who, and why?

Determined to avenge his team and settle old scores, Guerro embarks upon a one-man war, knowing that whoever put the kill order out on his people is still out there, watching for him to show his face so they can end him.

A hard-biting SF thriller in the vein of Blade Runner, Altered Carbon, and Titanborn.

Narrated by the award-winning R.C. Bray (Galaxy's Edge, The Martian)

During one of his men’s funeral, the rest of Guerrero’s crew is taken down and an attempt is also made on his life. A bleeder’s life is not an easy one, and Guerrero will have to embark on the mission of his life, not only to avenge his crew, but also to find out who is behind all this without being killed.

This was an entertaining and fast-paced story, with plenty of special effects and futuristic technology. It is written in first person, from Guerrero’s point of view. Guerrero’s voice is sarcastic and humorous, often using very graphic images. The only drawback regarding this is that some of the expressions were used more than once, which became a bit repetitive and made the images lose their impact.

There is not a lot of character development. We know that Gerrero is a bleeder, a mercenary, and also some of his fears. But we do not have his backstory or how long he has been a bleeder. I think this is why I was not able to relate to him. I also missed some world building. We got a little glimpse of the world towards the end, which left me wanting to know more. Anyway, I feel this came too late in the story, like a second thought.

I would also have appreciated more descriptions of places and people, and a better flow between scenes. The transitions felt abrupt most of the time, clunky. I think it was a good story but it needed to be a bit more polished to grab my full attention.

R.C. Bray’s narration was excellent, as usual. His portrayal of Guerrero was spot on, as someone who is reckless and disenchanted. Bray’s steady narration helped me to keep my attention focused on the story. It definitely added something to the book, making it more enjoyable.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Story (Plot)
three-stars
Narration
five-stars
Overall: four-stars
Please follow and like us: