Book Review: Call to Arms by Rachel Amphlett

Posted June 1, 2018 by lomeraniel in Audiobooks, Review, Thriller / 0 Comments

Book Review: Call to Arms by Rachel AmphlettCall to Arms (Detective Kay Hunter #5) by Rachel Amphlett
Narrator: Alison Campbell
Series: Detective Kay Hunter #5
Published by Saxon Publishing on 03-05-18
Genres: Thriller
Length: 6 hrs and 28 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audiobookworm
Buy on Amazon/Audible
Goodreads
Overal Rating: four-half-stars

Loyalty has a price.

Kay Hunter has survived a vicious attack at the hands of one of the country's most evil serial killers.

Returning to work after an enforced absence to recover, she discovers she wasn't the only victim of that investigation.

DI Devon Sharp remains suspended from duties, and the team is in turmoil.

Determined to prove herself once more and clear his name, Kay undertakes to solve a cold case that links Sharp to his accuser.

But, as she gets closer to the truth, she realises her enquiries could do more harm than good.

Torn between protecting her mentor and finding out the truth, the consequences of Kay's enquiries will reach far beyond her new role…

Call to Arms is a gripping murder mystery, and the fifth in the Detective Kay Hunter series:

1. SCARED TO DEATH2. WILL TO LIVE3. ONE TO WATCH4. HELL TO PAY 5. CALL TO ARMS

A page-turning murder mystery for fans of Peter Robinson, David Baldacci and Harlen Coben.

Agent Kay Hunter is back at work from her enounter with her nemesis and recovering from her injuries. Kay’s doctor’s recommendation is taking things easy until reaching full physical and mental recovery, but she just can’t remain calm under DI Sharp’s suspension from duties. Kay and her team will work hard to find out the truth behind Sharp’s suspensions, and maybe uncover a corruption case at the police department.

I always reserve weekends for Kay Hunter’s adventures to disconnect from the world avoid interruptions. Although I missed some of the exciting elements I found in the previous book, this was a very pleasureable listen too. We have to remember that there was an important story arc that closed in the previous book. The gist for his book’s plot was planted in book four, but although Sharp was an important character for Kay, I had issues connecting to him.

Independent from all that, it was an exciting book, full of great moments and several plot twists that had me on the edge of my seat from beggining to end. We get to know better some of Kay’s colleagues, and this made the book richer than the previous ones.

It was also nice to go back to Alison Campbell’s narration, which has become for me an essencial part in this series. Her direct and compelling style kept my attention at all times, while also delivering excellent character perfomances. The audio production was spotless.

Whatever Rachel Amphlett comes up with regarding Kay Hunter, she can take my money. An amazing series for fans of thrillers.

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by Rachel Amphlett. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

Story (Plot)
four-stars
Narration
five-stars
Overall: four-half-stars
Please follow and like us: