Book Review: Will Travel For Trouble Series Boxed Set (Books 7-9) by Minnie Crockwell

Posted June 10, 2019 by lomeraniel in Audiobooks, Cozy Mystery, Mystery, Review / 0 Comments

Book Review: Will Travel For Trouble Series Boxed Set (Books 7-9) by Minnie CrockwellWill Travel for Trouble Boxed Set (Books 7-9) by Minnie Crockwell
Narrator: Michelle Babb
Published by Bess McBride on 06-03-19
Genres: Cozy Mystery, Mystery
Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
Format: Audiobook
Source: Narrator
Buy on Amazon/Audible
Overal Rating: four-half-stars

Boxed set of the Will Travel for Trouble series of short cozy mysteries, Books 7-9!
Trouble in Tombstone Town, Book 7: Minnie Crockwell, recreational vehicle enthusiast and traveler, has finally made it to southeastern Arizona, land of sunshine and warmth, and steeped in the history of the Apaches and the Cavalry, legendary lawmen, outlaws and gunfights.
Peregrine Ebenezer (Ben) Alvord, Minnie’s nineteenth century ghost companion, is enthralled with tales of the Old West, and Minnie promises him a trip to Tombstone, home of the Gunfight at the OK Corral and Boothill Graveyard!
Shortly after setting out her pink flamingos at Tombstone Tommy’s RV Park, Minnie meets a fellow female RVer who invites herself along on the outing. But a reenactment gunfight gone terribly wrong and the disappearance of her new friend, Kathy, threaten to ruin Minnie’s plans for fun under the sun.
Trouble in Cochise Stronghold, Book 8: Minnie Crockwell, recreational vehicle enthusiast and traveler, having recently solved a murder in Tombstone, doesn’t run screaming from southeastern Arizona. She opts to stay at Tombstone Tommy’s RV Park for a little bit longer, determined to do some sightseeing.
The mystical Dragoon Mountains, historic hideout of the legendary Apache chief, Cochise, draw her in, and she sets out to explore Cochise Stronghold with her nineteenth century ghost companion, Peregrine Ebenezer (Ben) Alvord. But she makes it only about a mile into the canyon before she discovers a body floating in a deep well along the trail.
Minnie is getting used to death and mayhem, and this time, she doesn’t run from trouble but forges ahead to discover who shot the victim with an arrow and dumped him in the well. Ben assures her he has seen no ghostly Apache warriors bent on protecting the stronghold from intruders, and Minnie knows she is looking for a real-live cold-blooded murderer.
Trouble in Orange Beach, Book 9: Minnie Crockwell, recreational vehicle enthusiast and traveler, is finally heading for the beach! She travels from the mountains of southeastern Arizona across country to the warms sands and turquoise waters of coastal Alabama.
Orange Beach is a lovely little town on the Gulf Coast, and Minnie and Ben have just arrived in time for Mardi Gras, a fun-filled time of parades and festivities. Looking forward to some rest, relaxation and amusement at Sandy Shores RV Park, Minnie hopes that no one dies by violence during her stay in the idyll and tranquil beach town.
Unfortunately, for both Minnie and the victim, she finds a body on the beach—the husband of the RV park manager. No accidental drowning, the poor man has been murdered...stabbed and left to die. Was it a random killing by a stranger on a dark beach? Or did someone he knew target him? And if so, why?
In between bugging everyone at the park in an attempt to solve the murder, Minnie catches beads and moonpies at the local Mardi Gras parades...and hopes she can find a solution to the Trouble in Orange Beach!
Look for Book 11 soon!
Book 1 - Trouble at Happy Trails Book 2 - Trouble at Sunny Lake Book 3 - Trouble at Glacier Boxed Set (Books 1-3) Will Travel for Trouble Book 4 - Trouble at Hungry Lake Book 5 – Trouble at Snake and Clearwater Book 6 – Trouble in Florence Boxed Set (Books 4-6) Will Travel for Trouble Book 7 – Trouble in Tombstone Town Book 8 – Trouble in Cochise Stronghold Book 9 – Trouble in Orange Beach Boxed Set (Books 7-9) Will Travel for Trouble

I loved the previous two boxed sets, so I was looking forward to new adventures with Minnie and Ben. This set is composed of three shortish stories, like the previous two sets, and the vibe is quite similar to them too.

Minnie is appalled at her terrible luck for finding corpses wherever she goes, and these times will be no different. I enjoyed the banter between Minnie and Ben, how close to each other they are getting, and the humor which transpires in every situation despite the seriousness of events.

In the first story I missed Ben’s presence at some moments. Perhaps I got used to Minnie and Ben’s continuous dialogues, and somehow Minnie seemed to face events without talking to Ben as much as in other books. I was able to guess the murderer quite from the start but this could be because I am an avid listener of cozy mysteries.

The other two stories felt a bit more like previous books, with Minnie and Ben discussing every little detail, and the intrigue kept until the end.

After nine books, I can say that both characters have come a long way, and it is been a real pleasure to see them develop and interact. We also know Minnie’s ex-husband a little bit better, and I wish we will meet him one day. It will be a hoot!

Michelle Babb did an excellent job, as always, narrating this story. She has a very special talent to bring the characters to life and make them sound like real people, with their flaws, their fears, and their quirks. I also think Michelle Babb knows very well how to transmit the humor with which a story has been written, and I can definitely say that she gives soul to the stories she narrates.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Story (Plot)
Overall: four-half-stars